Texas Marriage License Information

At Vintage Villas we help a lot of couples with their special day, and we are often asked about marriage license requirements and procedures. To make the process a little easier, we have gathered the following marriage license information.

General Information:

  • There is a required 3 day waiting period from the time you obtain your marriage license until the time the ceremony can take place. (Unless special requirements are met.)
  • Your marriage license is valid for 90 days.
  • You do not have to get married in the same county where you received your marriage license. Your marriage license will be good in any county within Texas.

Who can perform a wedding ceremony?

  • A person who is an officer of a religious organization and who is authorized by the organization to conduct a marriage ceremony.
  • A justice of the supreme court, judge of the court of criminal appeals, justice of the courts of appeals, judge of the district, county, and probate courts, judge of the county courts at law, judge of the courts of domestic relations, judge of the juvenile courts, retired justice or judge of those courts, justice of the peace, retired justice of the peace, or judge or magistrate of a federal court of this state.

How to Obtain your Marriage License:

  1. Both the Bride & Groom must go to the County Clerk’s office, complete the marriage license application, and pay the license fee. You will need to bring the following:
    • Proper Identification (birth certificate, driver’s license or state-issued ID card, passport, visa, military ID, etc.).
    • The Social Security Number of each applicant.
  2. Following the ceremony, the wedding officiant must date, sign, and note the county where the ceremony occurred on the certificate. The marriage license must then be returned to the County Clerk’s Office within 30 days from the ceremony      date. Once the office receives the license, it will be copied and filed and the original will be returned to you.

For more information, you can visit the Travis County Clerk’s website (http://www.traviscountyclerk.org/eclerk/Content.do?code=R.27) or call your local County Clerk.

 

Written by: Samantha Botello, Wedding Sales Manager

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>